SuniTAFE Graduation and Awards celebration for Mildura

22 Mar 2023

Students, industry partners and staff joined together at the Mildura Arts Centre last night for the annual SuniTAFE Graduation and Awards.

The event recognised the hard work and determination of students for the 2022 academic year.  It also acknowledged employers, parents, friends and family who supported and contributed to the students individual outcomes. 

At the Mildura Campus in 2022 88 students graduated from 13 diploma and advanced diploma qualifications.  39 students from 15 traineeships completed their studies.  14 student awards and 3 scholarships were presented to deserving students. 

Sophie Vrybergen had double the celebrations, graduating from the Diploma of Nursing and receiving the Board Excellence Award for demonstrating exceptional achievements in her studies.  Becoming a nurse was a childhood dream for Sophie, and it is now her goal to become a Registered Nurse. Within the classroom, Sophie has always been professional and well-disciplined. She has always shown a genuine commitment to her studies and career goals. 

Employer of the Year was presented to Mildura Truck Centre.  Training and education is at the forefront of MTC to develop their mechanics and technicians, with 12 employed apprentices.  Through their local training, MTC has seen an increase in student retention of knowledge and engagement with the latest equipment.  Senior workshop staff have also re-engaged in undertaking further study.   The high-level investment from the company has included specialist training sessions and donations of equipment to SuniTAFE’s workshops.

SuniTAFE Board and staff are grateful for the support of the all the award sponsors and proud of all the graduating students and award winners.

Full list of award winners:

Apprentice of the Year (1st Year)  |  sponsored by NMLLEN  
Shane Powell - Certificate III in Light Vehicle Mechanical Technology

Apprentice of the Year (2nd Year)  |  sponsored by Repco Mildura
Alyssa Rogers - Certificate III in Automotive Electrical Technology

Apprentice of the Year (3rd Year)  |  sponsored by SMGT
Mitch McDonald – Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician
International Student of the Year  |  sponsored by Mildura Regional Development
Yuying Ding - Certificate IV in Accounting and Bookkeeping

Koorie Student of the Year  |  sponsored by MDAS  
Jakob Rayner - VCAL (Intermediate) 

Student of the Year Certificate III or IV (non-trade) - sponsored by Mildura Regional Development 
Bree Antonie - Certificate III in Early Childhood Education and Care  

Student of the Year – Diploma/Advanced Diploma (non-trade) |  sponsored by Saunders Design Group 
Rhianne Klatt - Diploma of Leadership and Management  

Trainee of the Year  |  sponsored by MAS National
Amelie Baumgurtel - Certificate III in Business

VCAL Student of the Year  |  sponsored by Mallee Family Care
Molly Mogford - VCAL (Senior)

Hospitality Student of the Year  |  sponsored by Quality Hotel Mildura Grand
Ruiqi Wu - Diploma of Hospitality  

Health High Achiever  |  sponsored by Sunraysia Community Health Services
Hannah O'Halloran - Diploma of Nursing

Board Excellence  |  sponsored by SuniTAFE Board
Sophie Vrybergen - Diploma of Nursing

The Sunraysia Institute of TAFE and Chances for Children Scholarships
Khadija Ibrahimi – Diploma of Nursing

La Trobe University  |  sponsored by La Trobe University 
Alicia Knight - Diploma of Community Service 

CPA Australia  |  sponsored by CPA Australia 
Sun Foreman - Advanced Diploma of Accounting   

Teacher of the Year  |  sponsored by SuniTAFE 
Jess Kendrigan – Beauty 

Employer of the Year  |  sponsored by SuniTAFE  
Mildura Truck Centre